Gail P. Kelly Award for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation

Invitation for Nominations for the CIES Gail P. Kelly Award for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation


Each year the Comparative and International Education Society (CIES) recognizes an outstanding doctoral dissertation with the Gail P. Kelly Award. Created to honor the distinguished comparative educator Gail P. Kelly and her many contributions to the CIES, the Gail P. Kelly Award honors a doctoral dissertation that addresses social justice and equity issues in an international context.

The Award is conferred on an outstanding Ph.D. or Ed.D. dissertation that manifests academic excellence; originality; methodological, theoretical, and empirical rigor; and that deals with issues of social justice and equity in international settings. These issues may include — but are not limited to — gender, race, class, ethnicity, and nationality.

The dissertation should reflect the scholarly purpose of the Society: comparative, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary and international studies contributing to the interpretation of developments in education in their broad and interrelated political, economic, and social contexts. Any Ph.D. or Ed.D. dissertation written in English and defended in an accredited institution of higher education from July 2013 through August 2014 is eligible for consideration. Any CIES member in good standing, including its author, may nominate a dissertation.

Nominations should include an electronic copy of the dissertation, a copy of the Departmental and University approval of the dissertation, and a cover letter requesting that the dissertation be considered for the Gail P. Kelly Award. The deadline for nominations is November 15, 2014.

The recipient of the Gail P. Kelly Award will be honored at the 2015 CIES Annual Meeting and will receive a stipend to help defray the cost of attending the meeting. The award recipient will make a brief presentation on the outstanding dissertation.

Nominations, applications, and queries should be sent via e-mail to Gail Kelly Award Chair: Dr. Jennifer Chan of University of British Columbia, Vancouver.

2014-2015 Gail Kelly Award Sub-Committee Members:
Jennifer Chan, University of British Columbia, (Chair)
Martin Benavides, The Group for the Analysis of Development (GRADE)
Gillian Hampden-Thompson, University of York
Andre Mazawi, University of British Columbia
Karen Ross, University of Massachusetts, Boston